What is the Double Bounce Rule in Pickleball? [Explanation, FAQs]

If you’re new to pickleball, you’ve probably heard about the double bounce rule (also known as the two-bounce rule) and wondered what it means. This fundamental rule is key to keeping the game fair and strategic, and understanding it will instantly improve your play.
At 11 PICKLES, we’re all about making pickleball fun, competitive, and easy to understand. Whether you're a seasoned player or just getting started, knowing the ins and outs of the double bounce rule will help you level up your game—and if you're looking to show off your pickleball passion, check out our 11 PICKLES merch!
What is the Double Bounce Rule in Pickleball?
The double bounce rule ensures that each team must allow the ball to bounce once on each side before volleys (hitting the ball in the air) are allowed. This prevents immediate net domination and promotes longer, more strategic rallies.
How It Works:
- The Serve – The serving team hits the ball cross-court into the opponent’s service area.
- The Return – The receiving team must let the ball bounce once before hitting it back.
- The Third Shot – The serving team must also allow the ball to bounce once before playing their next shot.
- After Two Bounces – Players can now volley (hit the ball before it bounces) or continue playing off the bounce.
Why This Rule Exists
Unlike sports like tennis, where aggressive serve-and-volley play is common, pickleball is designed to be more accessible and strategic. The double bounce rule:
- Prevents immediate net rushing after a serve.
- Encourages longer rallies by ensuring both teams have a chance to engage.
- Levels the playing field between power players and those who rely on placement and tactics.
FAQs About the Double Bounce Rule
Here are the most common questions about the double bounce rule we get asked!
Can the ball bounce twice on one side?
No. While the ball must bounce once on each side before volleys are allowed, it cannot bounce twice on the same side. If it does, the rally ends in a fault.
Why is it called the "double bounce" rule?
It was originally called the double bounce rule, but in 2018, the official terminology changed to the two-bounce rule. However, both names refer to the same rule.
Does the rule apply throughout the entire game?
No, the rule only applies at the start of each rally (after the serve and return). Once the first two bounces have occurred, players can volley freely.
What happens if someone volleys too soon?
If a player hits the ball before the required two bounces, it's a fault, and the opposing team gets the point or the serve.
How does the double bounce rule impact gameplay?
This rule ensures that the game isn’t just about power and speed—it’s about patience, positioning, and strategy. Players must wait for the right moment to attack, leading to more exciting and competitive rallies.
Master the Game & Rep 11 PICKLES!
Now that you know the double bounce rule, you're on your way to playing smarter and winning more rallies. But why stop there? Show off your pickleball passion with 11 PICKLES merch—from stylish tees to must-have accessories, we’ve got everything you need to bring the pickleball hype on and off the court.